MeHAF Announces Over $520,000 in Funding to Continue Supporting Medication Assisted Treatment

MeHAF announced $520,000 in funding to support ten organizations who are working to address Maine’s opioid epidemic.  The grantees work in regions from Aroostook to York counties.

From 2017-2018, the work of these grantees saw the number of MAT providers affiliated with their projects grow from 27 to 124, and the number of patients engaging in MAT increase from 199 to 806. It is also important to note that in 2018 Maine saw the first drop in opioid deaths in nine years. 

“This issue is bigger than any one organization can solve on its own,” said Barbara Leonard, President & CEO of MeHAF, “but collaboration, coordination, and commitment have spurred positive changes.  While we know that MAT is not the only solution, MeHAF is proud to be a partner in helping people who are uninsured or underserved have access to patient-centered care and a path to sustained, long-term recovery.”

This grant funding will complement the focus on the opiate epidemic signaled by the appointment of a state Director of Opioid Response.  MeHAF will continue to work with state government and other key statewide partners to ensure access to quality addiction care for opiates and other substances, and to promote long-term recovery. 

 

The Maine Health Access Foundation’s mission is to promote access to quality health care, especially for those who are uninsured and underserved, and improve the health of everyone in Maine.

MeHAF works with nonprofit partners and key leaders in the public and private sectors to advance initiatives and policies that particularly help those who face barriers accessing health care services and achieving optimal health. Each year we provide approximately $4 million in grant and program funding to support activities aligned with our mission.

For questions, please contact Jeb Murphy, Communications Associate, at the Maine Health Access Foundation by phone at 207.620.8266×117 or by email at jmurphy@mehaf.org.

 

Addiction Care Grantees List

Amistad, Inc.
Contact:
Brian Townsend, 207.773.1956, briant@amistadinc.com

Healthy Acadia
Contact: Elise Flemings, 207.669.2073, elise@healthacadia.org

Health Access Network
Contact: Nicole Morrison, 207.403.7545, nmorrison@hanfqhc.org

Healthy Community Coalition
Contact: Jennifer McCormack, 207.779.2926, jmccormack@fchn.org

Kennebec Behavioral Health
Contact: Tina Chapman, 207.783.2136 x1022, tchapman@kbhmaine.org

LincolnHealth
Contact: James Donovan, 207.563.4500, james.donovan@lchcare.org

MaineGeneral Community Care
Contact: Emilie Van Eeghen, 207.626.1214, Emilie.vaneeghan@mainegeneral.org

Penobscot Community Health Care
Contact: Heather Blackwell, 207.992.9200, hblackwell@pchc.org

Tri-County Mental Health Services
Contact: Catherine Ryder, 207.783.9141 x124, cryder@tcmhs.org

York Hospital
Contact: Hilary Leonhard, 207.351.3430, hleonhard@yorkhospital.org

Menu